Ragi Cookies(Eggless)

Ragi or Finger Millet is highly nutritious as it is rich in calcium, protein, minerals and iron which makes it one of the most healthy and easily digestible food but unfortunately it has a very bland taste and needs some extra ingredients to make it more delectable. When I was a kid, I would always find reasons to avoid anything made of ragi…. I would even tell my mother that “I get rashes on my skin if I eat ragi” πŸ™‚ my mother who was very persistent, would turn a deaf ear to all my stories and would make me eat every bite of my ragi food…. Stories apart, these days I include ragi in my diet atleast once in a week in some form or the other, cookies are the easiest way to incorporate ragi to your diet, so I tried these ragi cookies, to my surprise they turned out great and I make these cookies almost every week. Lets get started with the ingredients first:

Ingredients:

Ragi Flour – 1/2 cup

Whole Wheat flour – 1/2 cup

Brown Sugar – 1/2 – 3/4 cup(as per taste)

Flax seed meal – 1tbsp

Ginger Powder – 1tsp

Salt – a pinch

Baking Powder – 1/2Β  tsp

Oil – 1/4 cup (Can be replaced with butter as well)

Milk – 2 tbsp(optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl, then add the oil to it and mix them together, this will form a crumbly mixture which will not hold it s shape when pressed in our palms.
  3. Add water or milk to this mixture and make a smooth dough.
  4. Make flat rounds out of the dough and arrange them in a cookie tray and bake the cookies for 12-15 mins.

Picture 1 -Before baking – Cookies arranged in the tray, ready to get into the oven

DSCN4943

Picture 2 – Baked cookies

DSCN4953

Notes:

  • I love the flavor of ginger in anything, so I have used ginger powder in my recipe, feel free to replace it with cardamom powder,vanilla extract or even rose essence.
  • Everyone s oven is different so the baking time varies,keep an eye on your cookies after ten mins, you cannot expect any colour change as the ragi flour is already dark in colour so timing is key for the cookies to be cooked properly.
  • You can add chocolate chip or even walnut to make it more delicious.

Enjoy!!

7 thoughts on “Ragi Cookies(Eggless)

  1. Hi Dear.. Awesome, was looking for something with flaxseeds πŸ™‚ Can u clarify, most of the ragi cookies have ragi flour roasted, yours need not? are u sure dear??

Leave a Reply

