Ribbon Pakoda

Craving for crunchy stuffs never ends for me, my evening tea is always accompanied by some crunchy snacks(in a small quantity). I know many people out there would have the same habit as myself πŸ™‚ Home made snacks are so yummy and you can eat them happily as you know what is in there and we don’t have to read labels. Yes, thats what I do when I buy stuffs from outside “Read Labels”. Most of the time they are loaded with salt, unwanted oil and preservatives which I try to avoid as much as possible. of course, eating fried stuffs are not healthy as well but snacks which are made at home with fresh ingredients and new oil are better than the one we buy at stores with air filled packaging.

I still remember my mom would never buy snacks from outside, she would always make all the snacks at home in small batches with fresh flour and feed my family. My mom was working full time, 6 days a week, unlike me she would always find time for everything from cooking 3 times a day, to making snacks,to doing all the household works and taking care of us in all ways. So this recipe is very special to me as it is my mom s recipe andΒ  I had tried it for the first time and it turned out so well that I wanted to share it with my friends through my blog.

PRESS FOR RIBBON PAKODA

Press for Ribbon Pakoda

Β Ingredients:

Rice Flour – Β½ cup

Gram Flour – ΒΌ cup

Roasted Dalia flour/Gram dal Flour – 2 tbsp (Pottukadalai maavu)

Butter – 2 tbsp

Red chilly powder – 1 tsp

Hing Powder – Β½ tsp

Salt – To taste

Water – As needed

Β Method:

  1. Sieve the flours together atleast twice to ensure that there are no lumps.
  2. Take a big bowl and add in the sieved flours along with the butter, red chilly powder, salt and hing, mix them well such that it forms a crumbly mixture.
  3. Add water little by little to this mixture and form a dough.
  4. Set this dough aside for 15 mins.
  5. Heat a kadai filled with oil, enough to deep fry the ribbon pakoda over medium heat.
  6. Once the oil is hot,take a golf ball size dough and put it inside the press(I have provided a picture above showing the press and the plate I used).
  7. Squeeze the press over the hot oil such that the ribbon falls into the oil, you can try to make some shapes or just some stripes inside the oil as you like.
  8. Allow it to cook on both sides, flip it with caution such that you don’t spill the oil outside or break the ribbon.
  9. Once they turn light brown and the sizzling of the oil minimizes it means that it has been cooked through.
  10. Take the ribbon pakoda out of the oil and drain them in a paper towel.
  11. Once they are cool, store them in an airtight container.

Crunchy Ribbon Pakoda

 

Notes:

  • The crunchiness varies depending on the amount of butter, if you need it harder you can reduce the butter.
  • You can add garlic paste if you like for some variation.
  • Sesame seeds and cumin seeds can also be added but I wanted to keep it simple so I did not add any of them.

 

18 thoughts on “Ribbon Pakoda

Leave a Reply

